Breaking News

All about Padma National Awards (Civilian)

All About Padma National Awards (Civilian)

All about Padma National Awards (Civilian)

Bharat Ratna:

  • Highest Civilian Award
  • Given for exceptional work on art, literature, science, sports and recognition of public service of highest order.
  • Government Servants not eligible
  • Instituted in 1954
  • No Monetary Grant is given
  • Recipient gets Certificate signed by President Of India and Peepal shaped medallian

Q1: Who were awarded Bharat Ratna in year 2014?

Answer: Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Madan Mohan Malviya (Posthumously)

Q2: Who were the first recipeints of Bharat Ratna?

Answer: C Rajagopalachari, S. Radhakrishnan and CV Raman in 1954.

Q3: Name any natutralised citizen of India who was awarded Bharat Ratna? 

Answer: Mother Teresa

Q4: Name any non-Indian(s) who was/were aswarded Bharat Ratna?

Answer: Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan (Pakistan) and Nelson Mandela (South Africa)

Q5: Who was the first individual honoured with Bharat Ratna posthumously?

Answer: Lal Bahadur Shastri

Q6: Who became the youngest recipient of Bharat Ratna?

Answer: Sachin Tendulkar (40 years)

Q7: Who is the oldest recipient of Bharat Ratna?

Answer: Dhondo Keshav Karve (Social Reformer) - 100 years old.

Q8: To whom the Baharat Ratna award was announced but was not conferred?

Answer: Subash Chandra Bose

Padma Vibushan:

  • Given for exceptional and distinguished service in any field (including services rendered by Govt. servants)
  • Second Highest Civilian award

Q9: Who were the first persons awarded Padma Vibushan?

Answer: In 1954, following were announced as first recipients of Padma Vibhushan:

  1. Satyendra Nath Bose
  2. Nandalal Bose
  3. Zakir Husain
  4. Balasaheb Gangadhar Kher
  5. V. K. Krishna Menon
  6. Jigme Dorji Wangchuck

Q10: In 2014 to who Padma Vibhusan was awarded posthumously?

Answer: Dhirubhai Ambani

Q11: What is written on Padma Vibhushan medal?

Answer: On one side text "Padma Vibhushan" in Devnagari. On the other side national motto "Satyamev Jayate" inscribed along with national emblem.

Padma Bhushan:

  • Given for distinguished service of a high order in any field (including services rendered by Govt. servants)
  • Third Highest Civilian award
  • Till Dec 2015, 1230 people have received this award.

Padam Shree:

  • Fourth highest Civilian Award
  • Instituted in 1954
  • Awards to Citizens of India (was given to non-Citizens of India on few occasions) 
  • Give in recognition of their distinguished contribution in various spheres of activity including the Arts, Education, Industry, Literature, Science, Sports, Medicine, Social Service and Public Affairs

No comments