Breaking News

Nobel Prize Winners (2016) and 10 amazing Facts about Nobel Prize

Nobel Prize Winners (2016)
and 10 Amazing facts about Nobel Prize

Nobel Prize Winners (2016) and 10 amazing Facts about Nobel Prize

Here are the names of the winners of Nobel Prize in 2016

Name Country Field
Yoshinori Ohsumi Japan Physiology or Medicine
Oliver Hart UK Economics Sciences
Bengt Holmstrom Finland Economic Sciences
J. Michael Kosterlitz UK Physics
Duncan Haldane USA Physics
David J. Thouless UK Physics
Fraser Stoddard UK Chemistry
Jean-Pierre Sauvage France Chemistry
Ben Feringa Netherland Chemistry
Bob Dylan USA Literature
Juan Manuel Santos Presdent of Colombia Peace Prize

10 amazing facts about Nobel Prizes are:

The Nobel Prizes were founded by Swedish industrialist and scientist Alfred Nobel who invented dynamite in 1866.

Four individuals have won Nobel Prize more than once, they are
   ⒜ Marie Curie (1903 in Physics and 1911 in Chemistry)
   ⒝ Linus Pauling in 1954 (Chemistry) and 1962 (Peace)
   ⒞ Frederick Sanger in 1958 (Chemistry) and 1980 (Chemistry)
   ⒟ John Bardeen in 1956 (Physics) and 1972 (Physics)

Two organizations have won the prize more than once,
   ⒜ the International Red Cross Committee thrice (1917, 1944 and 1963)
   ⒝ the United Nations High Commission (1954 and 1981)

USA has the highest number of Nobel Laureats (363) followed by UK (123)

Curie family is popularly called Nobel Prize Machine by winning this award five times.
⒜ Pierre and Marie for Physics in 1901
⒝ Marie solo for Chemistry in 1911
⒞ Daughter Irene and her husband Frédéric Joliot-Curie for Chemistry in 1935
⒟ Henry Labouisse, who was married to Eve (daughter of Pierre and Marie), accepted on behalf of UNICEF in 1965.

There is no Nobel prize for Mathematics.

India's first Prime Minister Jawahar Lal Nehru was nominated 13 times but never won the Nobel prize.

Mahatma Gandhi was nominated five times but he never won this prize. In 1948 (the year Gandhiji died) no Nobel Peace prize was awarded because the Nobel committee couldn't find suitable living candidate.

So far 12 Indians (5 Indian citizens and 7 foreigners either India born or residing) have been awarded Nobel Prize. Their names are:

Rabindranath Tagore (1913 - Literature), C. V. Raman (1930 - Physics), Mother Teresa (1979 - Peace), Amartya Sen (1998 - Economic studies ), Kailash Satyarthi (2014 - Peace), Har Gobind Khorana (1968 - Medicine), Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar(1983 - Physics), Venkatraman Ramakrishnan (2009 - Chemistry), Ronald Ross (1902 - Medicine), Rudyard Kipling(1907 - Literature), 14th Dalai Lama (1989 - Peace) and V. S. Naipaul (2001 - Literature)

Malala Yousafzai (Pakistan) is the youngest (17 year old) Nobel Prize laureate. She was awarded Nobel peace prize in 2014.

No comments