Breaking News

Schedules to the Indian Constitution

Schedules to the Constitution

Schedules to the Indian Constitution

The constitution of India originally contained only 8 schedules. At present, there are 12 schedules in the constitution.

First schedule: It consists of the list of the States and the Union territories.

Second Schedule: This schedule is related to salary and allowances of the president, governors, the Speaker, Supreme Court and High Court Judges.

Third Schedule: It contains forms of Oath and affirmation.

Fourth Schedule: It contains allocation of seats to each state and union territory in the Council of States.

Fifth Schedule: It provides for Administration and Control of Scheduled Areas and Scheduled Tribes.

Sixth Schedule: It provides for administration of tribal areas in Assam, Meghalaya and Mizoram.

Seventh Schedule: Distribution of powers and functions between the centre and state governments under three lists. (Union List, State List and Concurrent List)

Eighth Schedule: It covers the languages recognised by the parliament.
List of 22 languages of India recognized by Constitution

1. Assamese

2. Bengali

3. Gujarati

4. Hindi

5. Kannada

6. Kashmiri

7. Manipuri

8. Malayalam

9. Konkani

10. Marathi

11. Nepali

12. Oriya

13. Punjabi

14. Sanskrit

15. Sindhi

16. Tamil

17. Telugu

18. Urdu

19. Santhali

20. Bodo

21. Maithili

22. Dogri

Sindhi was added in 1967 by 21st Amendment

Konkani, Manipuri ad Nepali were added in 1992 by 71th amendment

Santhali, Maithili, Bodo and Dogri were added in 2003 by 92nd amendment

Ninth Schedule: It contains laws passed by the Union or States which cannot be taken to court. Added by Ist amendment in 1951

Tenth Schedule: It provisions as to disqualification on the ground of political defection. Added by 52nd amendment in 1985

Eleventh Schedule: It provisions regarding powers authority etc. of Panchayati Raj institutions. By 73rd amendment in 1992

Twelfth Schedule: It provisions regarding powers, authorities, responsibilities of municipalities etc. By 74th amendment in 1992.

No comments